Which Bad Axe saw would you get?

sjk

The best wife in the world has been bringing up the topic of Bad Axe saws lately, and slyly trying to get my opinions on which saw would be best, handle choice, etc. My birthday is in a few months. I figure I better firm up my opinions in a hurry! I can figure out the material choices, but the type of saw and filing are still open questions.

I currently have the Veritas dovetail and crosscut saws (http://www.leevalley.com/US/Wood/page.aspx?p=64007&cat=1,42884,68511&ap=1).

I also have some EBay backsaws that I’ve rehabbed as I’ve learned to sharpen. They’re ok, “warranted superior”, straight and track well even after my sharpening :). One’s rip, the other is crosscut. They have about 2 1/2 inches from teeth to spine.

I build furniture and small projects, with the occasional DIY project thrown in. I don’t timberframe.  I was a mostly power tool woodworker, but in the last few years have been incorporating more hand tools.  I'm probably 70/30 split right now.

What Bad Axe would you add to that mix? Would you replace one of the current saws or add to my capabilities by filling a hole? (For example a longer crosscut saw or a, uh, “taller” tenon saw)

I haven't done enough with these to warrant a sharpening. I'd probably send the big one back because I don't know how to sharpen the voodoo that is hybrid filing... I'll sharpen the dovetail saw myself.

Mark does have a class that I am trying to find time to attend on sharpening. It's a crappy excuse, but it's a very long drive to his shop.

This is my first post and I don't want to come off as a jerk, but I'd order something fast or something already made if you want to unwrap it on your birthday. I ordered one after doing some extensive research, and I think I made a good decision. I am still waiting for the saw to ship though, and it's been 9 weeks.