Uneven Staining Issue

Lisa Behenna Rodgers

Looking for staining for advice – I’ve been making these rulers for 3 years now and the last 4 months have been having issues with the stain taking evenly.  I’ve never had the problem before, then all of a sudden it seems every board is coming out blotchy and striped.  I used Pine wood, so I recently read that I should treat it with a pre-stain conditioner, so I’ve started doing that.  It has helped on some, but most of them are still coming out all funky. 

Any ideas what else I can do?  Is there a chance the store I buy the wood from has changed the wood and that’s why I’m suddenly having all these problems that I never had before?  It has been winter here and I work out in my garage, so could it simply be the cold (although it’s been in the 50’s lately and I’m still having problems). 

I make these to sell and am having to waste so much wood and time because they are coming out like this and not nice and even.  I have to come up with a solution or stop selling them at this point and I’m just not sure what else to do.  Any ideas/advice would be GREATLY appreciated.

One photo shows the stripe/blotchyness and the other shows three that came out normal like they all used to..  The ones that look even weren’t treated with pre-stain conditioner at all, I just started doing that to try to fix the issue.  The splotchy ones in the photo were treated with the conditioner, but are still pretty splotchy. 

THANKS!!

IMG_2720.JPG

IMG_2719.JPG