Hello!

Diego_p

I'm new here. I have no experience woodworking. The most experience I do have is just a measly little bench that I made out of pallet wood but having watched videos and read more on the subject of woodworking I've gotten much, much more interested in it and want to move on to doing more advanced things. 

That being said, the first project that I'm hoping to complete is a lift top coffee table that that was inspired by David P. from Make Something (the drunken woodworker). But i want to make it out off solid walnut wood. And for the top I was thinking of making it maple with a walnut border around it. 

The process will be slow AF but I'm slowly going to get it done. As of now all I've got are some cheap chisels, a couple saws and a cheap smoothing plane. I also have a no.5 Stanley jack plane but it needs to be restored before I can use it. 

As for the wood, it's the only thing I have quite a bit of. I've bought rough sawn walnut and maple locally where I live for $4 bf/walnut and $1 bf/maple.

Anyway, I hope to learn a lot in this forum and even share what I get done. 

How are you going to mill your rough lumber?  You doing that by hand with your smoother?  That's quite a project with limited tools and experience.  I'm still relatively new to the hobby, I started three years ago building Ana White stuff and calling everything "rustic" since it had obviously filled nail holes and sanded through finish. I'm not sure I could have tackled that lift top table until a year or two ago when I really started adding some tools.

Regardless, jump in and see where it goes.  If you really get into this hobby, it's addictive and expensive. 

Hi Ronn, thank you.

I just realized that I posted this in the wrong section. Haha.