Suggestion for headboard project - newbie

Hello All!

As you might suspect, i am a newbie asking for advice/suggestion/ideas on how to build my own headboard. I am fairly new to woodworking and only done small projects like a doghouse and small cabinets. Needless to say, those projects being my first ones, came out with small imperfections. This time around, i am making plans to build some bedroom furniture for our guest bedroom which is currently empty. One of the pieces i want to make is a headboard measuring 78"W x 60"H with a 2" thickness. I want it to look like a solid (smooth) one piece board. Would you have any suggestions on how i can achieve that look for those measurements in a cost effective way? I am attaching a picture of the piece i want to resemble.

Thanks in advance for your help!

FullSizeRender 9.jpg

FullSizeRender 10.jpg

I'll go out on a limb, and guess that is a plywood box with edge banding, and a grain obscuring / emulating "stain" ( probably more like paint).

Of course, if you actually build it as a solid construction, like photo seems to be, you'll have to do it in place. Most beds don't fit well through most doors, without some disassembly.

• Like 1

Do you want to build just the headboard or the whole bed? The picture you provided is of course an entire bed. An idea of where you are in the world plus your budget will be very helpful here.

Wtnhighlander hit the nail on the head regarding the probable cheapest way of producing a headboard like what you describe, essentially just make a very big box out of plywood. You will need a couple of sheets per side so emulating grain will be pretty important to make the whole thing look solid. Putting the "seam" down lower where the mattress will occupy will definitely help the whole appearance.