Advice for a newbie

I am new to the whole carpentry/wood working. I started late last year building a vanity for a bathroom remodel I am doing and have since started building the cabinets for that room and a make-up/art desk for my daughter. I would just like some input from those who have been doing this for some time and some advice to a newbie. Just keep in mind that the last thing I had built before doing this was a picture frame in wood class...some 15 years ago in high school.IMG_20160501_110041508.jpgIMG_20151105_131401999.jpg

IMG_20160504_224918564.jpg

IMG_20160504_224822053.jpg

IMG_20160504_224741703.jpg

IMG_20160504_224723775.jpg

IMG_20160504_170450071.jpg

IMG_20160427_180504.jpg

IMG_20160427_140534899.jpg

IMG_20160406_142225293.jpg

IMG_20160406_181902738.jpg

IMG_20160406_183441760.jpg

IMG_20151028_234828799.jpg

IMG_20151029_174536364.jpg

IMG_20151026_174628221.jpg

Welcome to the forums!

For being away for so many years, it looks like you did a great job!

You'll find several here that don't enjoy paints or stains but, those were appropriate for you, your family, and your stage in woodworking.  

I hope you stick around and show us more of your work and shop!  Nothing to be ashamed of with what you've shown us so far!

4 minutes ago, eigregor said:

Thank you for your response. It's kind of surprising how addictive wood working is. Once I started, all I can think of is the next projects that I want to do and then I start sketching them out. 

It is addictive and expensive!  It looks like you have a good base set of skills so, hope you keep at it!

Yes, it is expensive too. Not that I am anywhere near the point of selling anything that I make (having a full time job and a family I doubt I will ever be at that point), but how much do people sell pieces for? I am just wondering how anybody makes a living at doing this when it is so expensive and time consuming.

3 minutes ago, eigregor said: