Hello from Nebraska

DOWORKSON

Names Jack, i'm an aircraft hydraulics mechanic by trade, interested in cabinetry. Currently in the middle of redesigning and building some new cabinets for my garage, trying to get things organized. But sense i cant stick with one project for too long i have now started getting into building my own hand planes, mostly research and planning at this point but....i have some wood from a couple trees i cut down in my yard that were already dead so i have no idea what kind of wood it is or if its hard enough to use for what im doing, but it has a lot of nice coloration, so im working on a few pieces of that right now.

If any body can help identify this stuff id appreciate it, or if there is some place else i should be asking that please let me know.

Thanks and i look forward to learning from some more experienced folks.

wood 1.jpg

wood 2.jpg

wood 3.jpg

wood 4.jpg

Welcome !

It is hard to tell from those photos but if it's maple and it was standing dead then the dark streaks could be spalting, which is one of the early stages of fungal rot. That could mean that it's not hard enough to be used to make plane bodies. Still might be good for a decorative raised panel. But this is all conjecture , I could be way off base !

A few well lit clear photos of a planed smooth board and a clean sharp close up photo of a highly sanded end grain will get you opinions from a lot more people .

2 hours ago, wdwerker said:

That is definitely not maple. I'm not familiar with cottonwood trees but the name does lead to some conclusions .

If your conclusions lead to the fact that it is a crap tree that grows like a weed, sheds it's branchs in a mild breeze, breaks in half during a storm, and will attract every bug known to man, then you are correct.

1 hour ago, wdwerker said:

Seems like I had read that somewhere but my clues were "cotton" and "wood" did not seem promising. Is it native or invasive ?