Smoothing Planes

JosephThomas

Looking at the veritas smoothing planes, and I'm so confused...why are there 3 different options? I've read the descriptions a few times, and even though I can see a few small details are different here and there, I'm not really getting the point. One is called small, but isn't really that much smaller. One is called "low-angle", but they're all low angle.

Looking here at the "BU smoother, small BU smoother, and low-angle smoother":

http://www.leevalley.com/US/Wood/page.aspx?p=52515&cat=1,41182

Yes, I'm a noob at this, any help appreciated :) Or better yet, if you know links to any in-depth explanations or youtube videos, please link me to those so I can do some of the work of learning on my own...thanks guys.

I got your pm lol...

I have the bevel up smoother and it is fantastic. Like Carus said, small details distiguish the different models. The bevel up smoother has been perfect for me for all my smoothing needs and I can't see ever needing another smoother.

Here is a great review by Derek Cohen, the guy knows his handtools!

http://www.inthewoodshop.com/ToolReviews/The%20Veritas%20Lee%20Valley%20Bevel%20Up%20Smoother.html

Sent from my SM-N910W8 using Tapatalk

The bevel up smoother also shares the same blades as the low angle jack and the bevel up jointer. So its a better investment if you decide to get anoy of those other planes. So you wouldn't have to buy multiple of every angle.

• Like 1

I have the Bevel Up and the Low Angle. 

The Bevel Up is a larger smoother and has a 2.25" wide blade set at 38 degree bevel, and weighs a pound more than the low angle. It has the same 12 degree bed as the other two. 

The low angle has a 2" wide blade, and the sides are a perfect 90 to the sole, and can be used to shoot miters. The low angle comes with a 25 degree blade