Sharpening stones.

BKeys

I'm new to sharpening and currently have a cheap, and by cheap I mean .99 water stone that is just labeled course and fine.  So essentially, I have no sharpening stones.  I'm going to be making a run into Detroit where there is a wood craft store and want to remedy that problem.  I have been reading about the different methods and different brands and really haven't come to any conclusions yet.  My biggest problem is that I only have about $150 I can put toward stones so i was wondering what people's thoughts are on which way to go.  I've wavered between Norton combo stones over to DMT diamond then to maybe just getting a 1500 Shapton to start and in a few weeks getting a 4K.  It seemed I could get enough of the Norton or DMT with $150 to actually get me rolling adequately but it also seems that overall the shaptons are the best route....any input?

With your budget, it's going to be a slow build..  The problem with sharpening, you kind of need most things all at once.

I'd suggest the Shaptons per your plan.  You'll also need a DMT diamond plate to flatten the Shaptons at some point.

Additionally, you'll want a guide to give you the best results.  I like this one.

http://www.leevalley.com/en/wood/page.aspx?p=51868&cat=1,43072,43078,51868

It's an expensive hobby!  It takes time to build up the equipment list that makes things a little nicer and easier.