New to turning, dry time is worrying me

fadi

Hello all,

I'm completely new to woodturning as a hobby, which will stay as a hobby. My concern is that the videos and articles I've seen and read talks about having to store the wood, pre-turning or after roughing, for months or years. Waiting for months to see results, or to give away gifts takes the fun out of it.

How do you guys deal with it?

Add to this the agony of starting in on a lump of wood only to see it self-destruct before crossing the finish line!  Roughing wet chunks of wood into blanks is an investment that a turner makes in future projects.  Drying time is an annoyance but it's one we tolerate gladly.

• Wet wood turns ridiculously easy.  Try roughing out a deep bowl in dry wood sometime and you'll see.
  • The world becomes your lumberyard.  Downed trees left after a storm?  Enough turning stock for years!  And it costs you nothing but time plus a little gas for the chainsaw.

And so turners live for future projects unknown.  Get a chunk of tree.  Rough to whatever dimensions suit the chunk at hand.  Put it away and forget about it.  When you want to finish something, look over your stash and see what inspires you.

If you're scientifically minded, I'd recommend getting a small kitchen scale.  Weigh your first blanks and chart their progress as they lose moisture to the surrounding air.  (It'll go quicker than you think.)

For gift giving, most turners turn to small projects that can be made from dried stock:  Pens, bottle stoppers, cheese knives, etc...These go quickly and can be knocked out en masse around November.

Lastly, if you want to get into larger forms with dry stock, try segmented turning.

• Like 2

• 2 weeks later...

The wait depends on what you turn.