Mailbox Dilemma

Rex Edgar

Friday, an inattentive driver took out our mailbox and landscaping around the box and paper delivery tubes. In the almost 30 years I have lived at this location, I have erected new mailboxes at least 4 times. I have seen a design that I like: 6x6 (possibly 8x8) mounted at a 45 degree angle with the mailbox mounted parallel to the ground. The area in question is fairly level so there will be some setback from the shoulder of the road. As I stated, I have some experience with this task, but before I plow ahead, I thought I would get some input from the group. I have seen what is available (mailboxes) go down the tube as far as quality. The last box came with no latch to keep the door closed. The stamped edge of the door was expected to keep tension on the side of the box to keep the door closed. Also the mounting is not very robust. I added kitchen cabinet magnets mounted to wood strips and screwed to the 10 o'clock and 2 o'clock positions to keep the door closed and significantly beefed up the mounting area on the bottom of the box. 

Has anyone had any recent experience mounting mailboxes and paper tubes and what procedures were used. Thanks for reading my ramble........

In 25 years living in our current home, never has the mailbox been hit. Mine is an off-the-shelf box, mounted to a cedar figure-4 style post.

I suggest a breakaway design, rather than a substantial brick column, if your box is actually on the right if way. Should someone hit the substantial brick column, you stand a good chance of losing a lawsuit, maybe worse.

• Like 1

If this is the 4th time you have had to replace because of people running into it, I agree with C Shaffer, make them feel some pain.  I would make a solid concrete reinforced post.  If someone hits our mailbox, we got bigger problems, all the mailboxes in our town are next to the front door.