I decided to give up ...

jplemons

I thought I could get by without a table saw, and I'm sure someone else could, can and does. But that guy is not me. I've run into complication after complication, which has cost me time and materials, let alone my patience. So I've decided to press pause on my chest of drawers project and just work on some shop improvement projects until I can gather funds to buy a table saw. I'll have to do some re-arranging of the my garage, but I think I'll be much happier with this hobby in the long run.

I've never used a table saw before, however, and am quite concerned about safely teaching myself how to use it and keeping all my digits. I've already had one mishap with a severed tendon on my left hand and have no desire to spend another year rehabbing something like that -- let alone all the time I'd have to spend away from my other passion. My wife has said that the only saw I should be looking at is a Sawstop, and I'm not arguing.

• Like 1

I am like Shane, I have the SawStop, but you still want to take the time and find the resources to learn how to use the table saw safely.  You want the safety feature of the SawStop to be an added benefit, not a crutch.

• Like 1

There are certainly valid arguments for the slider / tablesaw-less shop.  The styles I work in have more pieces with perpendicular edges than those without.  This is not to say I wouldn't die without my bandsaws, shaves and rasps for curves.

A chest of drawers would be one piece that normally would benefit greatly from a tablesaw in my shop.  This has less to do with being brought up tablesaw-centric in my thinking and more to do with the right tool for the job (for me).