First table saw: Bosch Reaxx or Sawstop PCS

TheOnlyDave

I'm currently building a new house with a basement and will finally get to have a woodworking shop.   I've been a garage hobbyist for many years and done a long of remodeling and finish carpentry work but due to restrictions at my current home I've been limited to so a shop that can break down every night.   

With my new house I'll have a 2500 sqft basement, and it's mine, mine, mine.    

While I have been a careful wood worker and have used table saws for years I've grown attached to my fingers.   I've been researching saws and I had settled on a Bosch Reaxx until my first trip to a Rockler store.  After speaking with the sales rep there.  He really has me thinking I'm wasting my money if I don't by a cabinet saw. 

What do you think?

Thanks Dave

Welcome Dave. I have a hybrid cabinet saw and like it. I got a killer deal on it about 7 years ago but it had no riving knife. I use Grippers and MJ Steel Pro Splitter. All that said, if you can afford the Sawstop, buy it. It's a great machine and the safety features are top notch. 

15 minutes ago, TheOnlyDave said:

I would also have to figure out how to get that beast down the stairs.  

It is heavy but you and a buddy with a little planning could get it down stairs.  You won't regret the SawStop, but even though the Bosch has a safety feature you will regret the job site size saw in the long run.  Buy once cry once.

Oh and welcome to the forum Dave.

• Like 1

All aboard for the SAWSTOP. The difference in quality is apparent when you first begin to unpack the parts. The manual is printed on quality stock and in a spiral binder. If memory serves me, the main unit (cabinet and one section of table) are packed separately and if the stairs are straight forward, should be able to be hand trucked down. Then the rest of the assembly can be done. Late last year, I upgraded from a decent RIDGID contractor saw and I couldn't be happier.

Oh, and welcome!