Jointer help

dlmorgan999

I am relatively new to woodworking, and just got a Grizzly G0490XW jointer with spiral cutterhead a couple of days ago.  I got it all set up and working and was doing test cuts.  I got to a point where I think I was cutting too thin a piece (about 1/2 and inch) and had some issues which resulted in knicking a few of the inserts and breaking one of them.  I replaced the broken one, and rotated the others.  Now when I make run, I get a "step" (not a ridge) about 2.5 inches from the edge of the board (meaning that everything after 2.5 inches from the edge of the board is still cut, but not as deeply as the first 2.5 inches). I can't figure out what might be causing that or how to fix it.  Can anyone offer advice?

Yeah I'm with Ross...he's not getting snipe, his new inserts have some shmutz in them or something.

Try taking them off and blowing out the seats with compressed air...just a tiny bit of debris will hold that cutter out slightly higher and cause those ridges/steps.

BTW, I don't think jointing a board that's "too thin" is going to damage the carbide inserts.  Your hands maybe, but not the inserts.  Is your lumber dirty/old/full of nails, etc?

Thanks everyone for all the replies so far.  I should have been more detailed.  It's not snipe, as the step is running parallel to the jointer bed, so the length of the board.  I thought (and this still seems the most likely) that the advice about debris under some of the cutters was the answer.  I just took out all the ones I rotated and cleaned them all out with compressed air but it didn't help.

I wonder if it's possible that some of the ones I didn't rotate are up too high for some reason?  For what it's worth, I measured the width of the board I was jointing when I had the problem, and it matches exactly to the width where the depth step occurs when jointing a wider board.