Absolute beginner apologies in advance

Hi there I'm total novice sorry to be so uneducated, here goes I have just bought some lovely ercol elm and beech dining chairs one has a huge spit about 5 mm wide in the seat pan. What glue should I use and what's a Dutchman ?? Is that a wood support underneath .. Should I put one on and if so what format should it be ie. Thickness and wood should it be screwed in ? Thanks in advance the chairs are lovely I want to do a great job 

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

• Like 1

How dare you be so uneducated! :D

Epoxy is one of the few adhesives that is gap-filling.  That's what I'd use.  Regular PVA wood glue probably won't help.  Get a couple clamps, try to fill the crack as best as possible, keep your fingers crossed.  Come back for more help anytime!

A dutchman is an inlaid piece of wood with a bowtie shape that helps prevent a crack from coming apart further.

Image taken from google...

Image result for dutchman inlay

• Like 2

And once you have made the structural repair, you will most likely need to repair or redo the finish on the chair.  (You'll have to sand to remove any glue/epoxy squeeze-out, and to make the bow-ties be flush with the chair seat, which likely has some curve to it).

Thanks guys I think the Dutchman looks beyond my skills at the moment do you think a brace of some sort on the underside of it would help, I'm going to shed today to work on some other pieces I'll photograph the split and post later see if that helps. Is the epoxy a filler or glue is it two part. Apologies for the amateurish nature of my questions .. I'm a jeweller by trade I know lots about metal !!! Wood err not so much

38 minutes ago, K Cooper said:

I've never seen a guy get this many answers in such a short time. Welcome ma'am and good luck with your glue up!

Ha ?

39 minutes ago, sjk said: