Unisaw 34-761 help needed

Scott Meggison

Hello to everyone, I am new to WoodTalk Forum. Looks like a great spot to talk wood and learn new stuff.

I just bought a Unisaw model 34-761 at an auction. 3hp, 3phase w/phase convertor. $300 out the door, in decent shape. Just got it unloaded into my shop and will be pulling wire for it. I am looking for a manual and found a site that has parts. My problem is that they list model #34-761  Type I thru Type 4  I am not sure what the differences are between the Types. Any help would be appreciated. Also need a manual/parts list.

Thanks in advance for any help

Scott 

Unisaw 01.jpg

Unisaw model.jpg

Hello and welcome!

What are your plans for the saw, are you going to completely rebuild it, or just get it clean enough to start using it? 

Either way you should check out owwm.org (old wood working machines). They know everything about these saws and will be able to help you a great deal. I am personally not familiar with the different types of this exact model. At some point they started putting the bearings into the arbor a little differently and the lock nuts on the wheels worked differently, those are pretty much the only real differences in the unisaw models though. 

BTW, you definitely should consider replacing the bearings in there as they likely have not been touched since it was made. What you have there is the "peace sign" rockwell unisaw which puts the saw build in the 70s to early 80s if I remember correctly. Looking up the serial number on owwm.com unisaw information area will give you an exact year though. 

Thanks to all who responded. I have since found that the saw was made in 1980 by the Tupelo division. this is per wiki.vintagemachinery.org

Brendon_t  Not sure about the trap door. It is what it is. Still not sure about the "Type 1-4".  The saw came with a vfd by Niagara Electric. I will be pulling a 220vac line to feed the vfd.