How do I...?

sillyboy

Hello all,

I am looking to make a trough in hardwood so that I can form copper pieces,  See photos of what I am making.  The backside when formed will be approx. 5/8" wide, and the ends will be rounded as shown in the photos.  Total height is approx. 3/16"

I am a novice woodworker and would appreciate some advice.  Should I use a gouge or a router bit?  How would I make the rounded end in the form?  All surfaces will have to be smooth, so the are no "bumps in the copper".  I realize that there will be hand sanding, but I want to remove as much hard wood as possible.  I'm arthritic.

Thanks for this site...

SB

IMG_0040.JPG

IMG_0041.JPG

IMG_0042.JPG

IMG_0043.JPG

That's a job for the router,I would do in with router in the table with one of those round end bits.

I would use a piece of wood bigger than I need for safety and control since it will have to drop down on the spinning cutter.

A piece of 80 grit sand paper on a proper sized dowel should clean up any bumps easy.

You could also chuck up a dowel with a round end and spin some sand paper on the form the is round.

Aj

I would use a fairly hard wood . It looks like you could start with a piece cut from copper pipe. I don't know a lot about forming metal but heating it before should soften it and after being beaten on it will harden so subsequent reheating will make it easier to form. If you are putting hot metal in the form wetting the wood will reduce scorching.

If you take very light cuts with the router and slightly raise the bit each pass you will get much better results. Trying to hog out too much in one pass will probably lead to burning the wood and dulling the bit quickly.

1 hour ago, galturner said:

I'd bend the copper over a pipe of the right diameter..or a dowel.

Hello, I've been trying it that way.  It takes forever and leaves slight depressions that can not be removed.

Thanks

1 hour ago, wtnhighlander said: