Shop counter for sliding tools

SeattleSarah

We have an 11x19 shop and I am planning on building an 11' plywood counter at one end for workspace and to hold all the small hand tools on an open shelf. I want to be able to build plywood bases for our drill press, mortiser, and router table, and then be able to slide the tools to one side or the other if we are not using them. My simple idea was to put bench dog holes along the front and back of the counter, as well as in the four corners of the tool bases. 

Questions:

1) do I need to put melamine on the counter and tool bases to allow for the sliding? 

2) will I still need to clamp the tools to the front of the counter to use them safely?

3) do I need to over-engineer this and add a miter slot and gauge to counters and bases? (This was one suggestion that I am clearly resisting)

Please note I am a beginner so any suggestions are welcome.

Bonus question: is there ever a time when your shop is set up so well you can just go in and use it? It's a personal goal, just wondering if it exists. 

Doesn't exist in my world :)  

Welcome to the forum.

Do you mean to have dog holes for the tool bases to key into? The issue I see with that is the difficulty in lifting heavy tools out of the dog holes when you want to move them. What about small, non-swivel, locking casters on the base of each tool?

Thanks for responding! 

I meant there will be holes in both the base and the countertop, and then I just slide the tool over to the holes and put bench dogs into both the base and counter hole. 

I shoud have stated; my goals are to not have to pick up and move the tools, and to add more counter / work space. 

I'll look into the casters, thanks! I didn't know small ones existed. I just knew about the larger ones.