Building my first work-bench for hand tools. Which vice should I get?

Dolmetscher007

My Veritas low angle Jack plane came in the mail yesterday. My first hand plane ever. I am so pumped!!!

I will be building my first work bench soon, and I need to decide on which Vice to buy. Here is roughly the exact bench I want to build.  It has no tail or leg vice. It just has the one large wooden vice with suede on the inside. The only thing is... the vice shown in the picture is 100% wooden. The vice jaw(s) is wooden, the handle it wooden, and it even has a huge wooden screw that goes through the apron into a huge wooden "nut." To keep the jaw running true and not rack to one side, it has a massive square wooden "dowel" that slides in and out of a square hole, and it kept running true by wooden adjusters... all of which I'd have to build myself. I don't want to get into all that. I'm brand new to hand tools, and I feel like all of that would be a huge trick to get right, and even then, it would probably swell and contract over time and be a huge headache.

I know nothing about vices, though. I know Veritas, because I've spent hours on their website reading all about all their tools. And I know Lie-Nielsen for the same reason, but I don't want to JUST buy Veritas evertything, and Lie-Nielsen doesn't seem to specialize in vices at all. Is there a company that make "the vice?" The industry standard?  

If i had the disposable income 2 years ago that I have today, i wouldnt have cheaped out on bench hardware like i did. I ended up buying the lee valley large front vise. It works well, and i use it as a front vise/tail vise with dog holes drilled in the vise chop. It racks a bit, but that is because the 16/4 chop is 28" wide. I will absolutely buy benchcrafted stuff for the next bench build in 5ish years.