Bookcase Joinery Advice?

Dubya

It's my first time on the forum, though I've been watching Wood Whisperer videos for a while (thus how I knew to come here). Hi everyone!

I'm pretty new to this in practice, but I'm the type who studies up for a very long time before taking the plunge. That of course means that I'm not at all an expert, but I have lots of ideas for ways to get in trouble...which is why I'm coming here for some advice :)

I'm turning a room in our house into a library, with shelves inspired by Frank Howarth. Before starting on the built-ins though, I plan to make one or two freestanding units, using a similar design. I'll add a strip to the faces to hide the layers, just like in the video. I've attached a picture of a quick Sketchup mockup of the box, without one side (for clarity), the center verticals, or the base. Oh and I'm not sure on the finish yet, so I'd like to keep my options open

There are two problems I've encountered in the planning phase, one stemming from the other. Frank's shelves didn't really have to account for plywood layers at the ends, but a freestanding set does...and I haven't convinced my wife to like the look of 13 layers of birch (though I think it's pretty cool). That means that a rabbeted end matching the dado in the middle, showing off the layers at the very end, is out. I don't want to edge-band such a small spot (it'll either hang over, or I have to precisely account for it while cutting the rabbet). I feel like I'm stuck going with miters...so my first question is, is there any better option?