Planer Stand for Dewalt 735

bushwacked

My stand is a 36" wide x 23" deep cabinet. Very much like a kitchen base cabinet with 2 doors and 2 rollout shelves in each drawer.  I added 3 side mounted casters that raise the cabinet if I need to move it for longer pieces.  Why 3?  It will never be tippy if the floor is even.  2 on one end of the cabinet and 1 on the other.

When I make mine I plan to have it's bed at 37-1/2" to match the (future, if I ever finish it) workbench.  I also plan to raise up the base on my table saw so its top is at the same height.  I don't have a ton of room in my shop for infeed and outfeed tables so I think I'm going to make any surface an infeed/ outfeed table.  Same with the miter stand if I ever get around to building one. 

(if anyone see's an issue in this thinking let me know as I'm still a noob)

12 minutes ago, RichardA said:

I'm 6'2" and 37 1/2 worked well for me at the workbench... Lifting all your tools to that height is going to be a PITA.. the average height for most tools is around 34" to 35".  I tried raising my tools, and it was a real Pain  to do and keep accuracy.

I'm about the same height, maybe just under 6'2".  That's good to hear that height works for you.  I played around with blocks of wood on an old workbench and that height felt good to work on.

Luckily, I currently only have one tool that has a permanent height and that is my table saw.  I'm thinking I can shim it up with a piece of plywood in its mobile base.  May have to add a rim of 2x under the plywood or something.  It is just about a half inch under my bench now (it's just my benchtop sitting on saw horses.  I'll finish it someday I promise lol) but it works well with my panel sled for cutting long material.  Thats what gave me the idea.  I've been just pulling the table saw away from the wall at an angle to give the clearance needed to make the cut without eating up too much floor space.  Then I roll it back against the wall when I'm done.