New to woodworking in sketchup, but not sketchup..

Marmotjr

I consider myself fairly skilled in Sketchup, I do a lot of modelling in it for 3d printing and general prototyping/fabrication.   I am not very well versed in it for woodworking.   Any of the tutorials I have found are either for absolute beginners and have little new to offer me (but usually have a few little refreshers in them) , or are for people who are familiar with techniques commonly used in sketchup for woodwoorking, but I find myself missing some background info. 

So with that in mind, what resources are good for what I'm looking for?   What plugins do you frequently use?  Common techniques for laying out a design using wood instead of "manifold volumes" as I'm used to?

Thanks in advance

I model mostly houses and commercial buildings at work.  In woodwork models I've found that making each piece of wood either a component or a group helps a lot.  Really sucks when your model welds itself together on ya.  So far I have only used it for rough design, I print it out and mark actual dimensions on the piece.  IE, I use 3/4" dimension for my sketchup model but the actual plywood is a little thinner. 

If you can create things in sketchup then you pretty much are there as far as woodworking is concerned. Woodworking in sketchup can be pretty basic and frankly usually is for most users. It is just a way creating a piece in advance so you know what joints you will need and how thick your stock has to be etc, and also a way of being able to see the finished piece so you don't create something that has legs that are too tall or odly shaped etc.

• Like 1

37 minutes ago, Marmotjr said:

I figured doing something like making a bunch of small pieces with the crossectional size of the pieces you'll use, and then just copy/paste/extruding to length from there.