Dovetails for the WHC?

jgfore

I bought a Porter Cable Dovetail jig for this project, (because I really want it to look nice and I have never done dovetails by hand before) but have found that it only does half blind dovetails, unless I purchase another plate. Since my wife will probably leave me or castrate me if another tool arrives on the door step, I really do not need to do this YET. So, my question is: If I do the half blind dovetails, and I want them to be visible, can I let the blind side be on the draw sides, and let the visible portion be seen as the front of the drawer. My next question is: WILL IT LOOK STUPID?

If Marc ends up doing his by hand, and not use the jig, then I may attempt them by hand, but I just do not know. I will probably spend most of the time in the shop cutting, jointing, planing the wood for the project, so practicing dovetails by hand is not much of an option now either.

Let me know what you think?

Jeff

In my opinion half blind dovetails on the front has a few problems. First it would look a little funky. Second it defeats the point of a dovetail joint. Since the front of the drawer could easily pull out of socket when the half blind is showing toward the front. Granted a glue joint with that setup would still be really strong... it just seems wrong all around.

In my opinion half blind dovetails on the front has a few problems. First it would look a little funky. Second it defeats the point of a dovetail joint. Since the front of the drawer could easily pull out of socket when the half blind is showing toward the front. Granted a glue joint with that setup would still be really strong... it just seems wrong all around.

Well, I kind of thought the same thing about the way it might look. However, I did not think about the drawer face being able to pull away from the sides. Yes, you are right, there is no way that I would ever pull on it hard enough to break the glued joint, it does seem even more odd after knowing that.

Thanks.