Restoring/rebuilding grandfather's chest of drawers

IronSwalt

Hi all,

I am about to start restoring/rebuilding my grandfather's chest of drawers (which he made for my grandmother to store LP records) and I'd appreciate some advice on how to proceed. I'm a good DIY'er and have made some wooden things around the house so I know a thing or two but I'm no expert on restoration.

Firstly, here's the chest as it stands:

Chest at start.jpg

The whole unit is quite unstable and loose since it's been put together mostly with screws and very little glue. Since it's not glued, I can disassemble it and repair/replace most of the parts. I'd like to repair the side panels since they're warped. Here's a photo of the side:

Side Gap.jpg

This is a photo from the bottom of the unit:

Side panels warped.jpg

How would I fix this? I guess in theory if I had access to a steamer and a press of some sort I could try flatten it. But would it be more practical to put it through a planer? What type of planer would work? And do I do several passes of gradually reducing thickness while flipping the panels over?

I would also like to glue them together (to increase stability) but the gap between them is about 4mm (5/32"). I'll have to insert another thin piece of wood between the two.

Thanks for any advice - much appreciated.

Welcome to the forum, IronSwalt !

The problem with just gluing the sides up as one piece and screwing it all back together is wood movement. Wood movement was not taken in consideration when building this piece, hence the huge split in the middle. The grain is running in the wrong direction on the top. Im sure there are other areas to address as well.

As for flattening those pieces out, id probably just do my best with a handplane. Id just knock down the high spots. Not sure you will manage to get it perfectly flat and still have a good amount of material left, its pretty warped.

Sent from my SM-N910W8 using Tapatalk