Live edge slabs

Miss4fiddy

Hi there  

Im very new to the woodworking gig. 

I'll be picking stopping by a sawmill of an old family friend and he will be cutting some slabs for me. 

I'm pretty sure it's not green as it has been sitting in his yard for quite some time. Once it has been cut i heard the rule of thumb was to put it indoors and let it sit for 1 year per inch of thickness. I'm looking at getting some 2" slabs. 

My question is, even if it has been cut for over a year or 2 (depending on what log in get him to cut me slabs) do I still have to bring it indoors for quite sometime to acclimatize before cleaning and sanding and putting it on a frame? Any info would be great and I appreciate it! 

received_10207928273270977.jpeg

I think the "1 year per inch" rule only applies if the logs have already been cut into boards...and it's just a rule of thumb anyway, doesn't take into consideration the most important factors (species, starting moisture level of the tree, humidity of the environment the tree is stored in, etc). I would take the advice above and get a moisture meter.  

Also note that air drying is a process that requires patience, which is why most lumber is kiln-dried these days (depending on the location of course...but 'm guessing if you have snow, kiln drying is the recommended course of action. Ask your friend with the sawmill what he usually does.

• Like 2

I recently cut some walnut logs that I've had sitting at the mill for over five years. The logs were on blocks and not touching the ground. The boards we sawed had a surprisingly 32% moisture content. I cut some 4" x 5" thick pieces and will slowly air dry them in my shop for future gun stock blanks. I expect a wait of approximately three years before they are dry enough to work. So, that tells you that even though your buddy has some logs that have been laying around for a year or so, they will most likely have a pretty high moisture content depending on the species.