DT Jig advice -- & 1 other

steverael

Hi all. I am brand new to the Guild. I am planning on building the Primary Version of the Wall Hanging Cabinet. I chose Primary, as I've never done DoveTail joinery EVER -- either with a jig or hand cut, so I thought this would be a great time to dive in.

1. DT Jig Advice: I'm guessing I don't have time to perfect hand cut dovetails (I do have a day job); so, I am willing to invest in a Dove Tail Jig. So, I've started researching like I always do, and I am overwhelmed. I've narrowed down to the Porter Cable 4212, Leigh Super Jig, and AKEDA. The PC4212 is very reasonably priced. The other 2 are presumeably better -- and the price is commensurate -- the AKEDA is currently not available. Generally I try to buy good quality stuff so I don't repurchase things over and over; but since I've never made Dove Tails before, I'm not sure how much I should invest in this jig. And, assuming I go with the Leigh Super Jig, I was planning on getting the 12" version.

So, anyone have any advice on which way to go (PC, Leigh, or Akeda -- or something else) -- and is a 12" jig going to severely limit me, whereby I will have wished to get the Super 18?

2. To mill or not to mill: Marc had posted Wall Cabinet Plan 2 based on Plywood -- with a note, "this is for those who don't own milling equipment". I do not own any milling equipment such as a planer or jointer. I already purchased my wood for Plan 1. It is 4/4 Walnut. I was hoping to just work around the plans, and just use the 4/4 for the pieces that required 3/4 stock, and just adapt where needed. Do I really, really, really need to mill the 4/4 down to 3/4? I've got the doors handled since I have Raised Panel bits. I don't see any big deal that the drawer pieces will be 4/4 vs. 3/4. Am I missing something that would mess me up?

Thanks & Cheers,

Steve