Purchasing a Jet 20" Planer

tim0625

Looking to make a purchase - Rockler has the Jets on sale with free shipping.  I am a hobby woodworker but I don't want to barely get by on the power so I'm asking 3hp or 5hp?

Why would I need the 5hp?

Also, If I get the regular knives now, could I upgrade to a helical head pretty easy or is it better to take the plunge now?

Thanks

Tim

• Like 1

If you are going to do it eventually, i would do it now on the helical head. Swapping them looks like a gigantic PITA, not to mention the cost of the head, bearings, etc. Plus, last year there was some wacky manufacturing shortage and they were back ordered for 6+ months, i believe. My 20" PM with byrd head is 5hp, so i cant comment on if 3hp is enough. Just looking at the market, the budget/older 20" machines are 3hp, and the new mid-range/light industrial 20" machines are 5hp. This is Grizzly, PM, Jet, Bridewood, Hammer, etc. Whoever makes stuff for small shops and hobbyists. Im no expert, but looks like a well designed jointer or planer 12-15" capacity is well served with 3hp. 16"-20" is when you see everyone step up to 5hp+. If you get a helical head, i would consider the 5hp machine. Congrats on the purchase, i really like my machine so far. Coming up on a year of ownership right now, but i can only compare it to a dw735.

The 735 is what I have now and I really have no complaints but I'm looking at doing some glue-ups that would require more than 12.5" or 13". Grizzly 5hp helical = $2200, Jet 5hp helical $2900 w/ free shipping. New Jet equipment is usually a little over priced IMO but it's on sale and the shipping is worth almost $200. I have a Grizzly 5hp table saw and am really happy. Wonder if  there is a big quality difference between the two?