Moving A Cabinet Saw Down Stairs

brianb

Hi All,
I have been using a contractor saw for about 5 years now and finally have the space and savings to step up to something better. I'm looking at used 3 hp Cabinet saws and am probably going either PM 66 or Unisaw direction. I'm still weighing my options there, but not concerned with that right now. My concern is around getting the saw in the door (then down about 6 steps, then back up those steps some time in the future). Both saws will fit through the door long ways if I remove the extension tables, but I'm wondering about the weight. Would I be able to walk one of these saws (550-650 lbs) with a hand truck (and a few drafted assistants), or am I going to have to hold off on this until my shop is on the ground floor?

I'm also wondering about having it on a mobile base. As I said, I have the space, but not unlimited and I will likely need to move it on occasion when working on larger projects. Is there a mobile base that would allow me to do this, or is this a recipe for frustration in the future?

c7f96875c5663668e5e4ab7d70b59423.jpg

Portamate makes good mobile bases, and there is nothing wrong with having saw on a mobile base as long as it can be locked in place.  If it is a straight shot down the stairs, I would take off as much weight as you can, strap it to the hand truck and have someone up top holding a rope to help in case of a slip.

1 minute ago, BonPacific said:

Make sure it's the heaviest duty kind you can find, with load straps and rubber stair-rollers (or whatever those are called)

What you want is an appliance dolly, don't try to just strap it to a regular hand truck.  Rent an appliance dolly and you should be fine.