Nonreactive topcoat under neoprene?

ClassAct

Gentles:

I'm repurposing a kitchen table into a vaulted game table. The vault will be stained and have a topcoat of some sort. The vault floor will be covered by a removable cloth-backed neoprene (think mouse pad). I expect the neoprene to live in the vault, and be removed only for vacuuming out the vault.

In the deep, dark, distant past, I've had bad experiences with carpet padding and other synthetic materials reacting with top coats found on hardwood flooring -- sticking to the floor, leaving discoloration marks, or bits of the material sticking to the floor. I'd like to avoid this, even though my table isn't exactly a piece of fine woodworking. Neoprene is supposed to be relatively inert (thanks, Wikipedia!), and in my years of being an IT nerd I don't recall a mouse pad ever sticking to a desktop.

As I'm new to the world of wood finishing, I did a bit of research and here are my thoughts:

• Use a topcoat like Minwax Wipe-On Poly or General Finishes Arm-R-Seal. If there's any reactivity, sand out the damage and then apply shellac.
  • Apply a shellac top coat, watch for reactivity etc.

Additional info: I'll be using GF's gel stain on the whole table. I also don't have a time frame for getting this done, so the table can sit for days or weeks between coats. Shop is heated 24/7 to 70 degrees (47 kilohectares for you metric users) with a mostly stable relative humidity.

Any and all feedback welcome!

--Mike

Hmm, no ideas from the group mind? Maybe my question should have been more vague. :P

Candor, how fast do the bench cookies start adhering to the surface, and what type of surface(s) treatment? You and I can get some more data and maybe come up with general guidelines....