Finishing Mahogany - First time woodworker

Mike Vee

Hi,

I just found out about this forum via the woodworking subreddit and I would like to get some advice.

FIrst, I'll have to introduce myself.
My name is Mike and I'm a complete beginner in woodworking. My past experience in woodworking was to create sawhorses for this project.

Now, situation around my question:
I'm building a tabletop for my standing desk. (I purchased the mechanical parts from Autonomous) from Mahogany. 

As of now I have purchased the wood, joined the boards together into 2 sets:

60" x 30" and 60" x 15" as a 2 tier desk

I was able to join the boards together including adding dowels to the seam to help support the table.

After I've joined it, i did some smoothing stuff like adding wood filler in the seams as best as I can and then using a random orbital sander, i sanded down the seams so they're smooth and doing what i can to make sure the rest of the board is as flat as I can (In this part, i sorta kinda failed. I can feel some of the rise/fall of surface, but atleast it's nothing too noticeable).

After all this, I wiped it down and using Old Masters Woodgrain filler mixed in with a Minwax stain (2:1 ratio), I applied it to the entire project and when it dried up the next day, i took a plastic spatula to scrape across the grain (at one point, i messed up and scraped it with the grain and pulled up a little bit of the woodfiller like a moron that I am).

Then I stained the project one more time. (when you see the pictures, please note that I do know that I most probably did a poor job of evenly staining and blending the material. I don't have any experience doing this but I hope to keep on doing this until i know how to do it right)

So now is my question:

At this point, should i sand the surfaces down again with a high grit sand paper (either w/ a sander or by hand) and then apply shellac?