Is this Sapele?

hga77

I need to purchase Sapele wood. It’s for a staircase (treads and handrail). I have been to a local wood seller and they told me that they have a wood called “Sapelli Mahogany” from Gabon. I asked to see a sample which they provided. I’m not an expert and wanted to be certain that this wood is indeed Sapele before I spend my money. I took photos of the sample (attached). My main concern is that it is "African Mahogany" or something other than Sapele.

I know this is much to ask, but is it possible to tell from the images whether or not this is Sapele?

Also if it is Sapele, I've read that too many pin knots can mean lower quality wood?

I would really appreciate your help!

2.jpg

1.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

Good to know that you all think it's Sapele.

47 minutes ago, Chet K said:

Are you replacing, repair, matching something that already exists?  If so try taking a scrap to your yard for a match.

Not really. It's for a new staircase.

46 minutes ago, wdwerker said:

Sapele is 1500 Janka hardness, white oak is 1360. I think it should be fine for stair treads.

Yeah that's why I want to make sure it's Sapele and not "African Mahogany", Since African Mahogany is 1100 Janka which might not be ideal for flooring specially stair treads.

I'm looking to do something like in the picture attached.

Screen Shot 2014-09-03 at 21.04.jpg

58 minutes ago, wdwerker said:

Looks like sapele to me as well. Much easier to tell if you wet the surface and edge with water, mineral spirits or alcohol.

I'll go to the yard in the morning and get the surface wet and take pictures and post again. Thanks

I recently watched this video comparing uses of AM, sapele, and Utile....sapele should be fine for stair treads.  It looks like it is sapele to me, but it's possible it is just rift sawn AM....some of the stuff at my lumber yard is hard to tell apart, except for the fact that most of the AM is just flatsawn.