Grain orientation for bowl turning

Numenor

I am just getting into bowl turning and was wondering what orientation you typically have the grain running. I.e. is it parallel or perpendicular to the base of the bowl?  From what I gather in my own reading is that you can really orient it any way with different grain patterns showing for each.  Thanks in advance for any insights. 

Calling it a "bowl" suggests a form that is wider than it is tall.  The grain would therefore be best oriented parallel to the base. Near as I can tell, things taller than they are wide are generally referred to as "vessels" (i.e. vases, pencil holders, goblets, etc.) and are turned with the grain running perpendicular up from the base.

If you're just getting started, best if you plan to turn a few broad, shallow bowls using a faceplate and a chuck.  Then get into taller, deeper, more enclosed shapes.

• Like 2