Need a wheel style marking gauge

Nick2cd

So, i've never cut a mortise and tennon (im new to woodworking). i think i need a wheel style marking gauge to lay out my mortise and tennon joints. rockler and woodcraft both have them for approx $15, but the reviews are just average. the next step up is around $100. is there some middle ground? are the reviews correct about the $15 gauges? just seems like such a simle concept, how can a company make a poor one? do you have one you like?

So, i've never cut a mortise and tennon (im new to woodworking). i think i need a wheel style marking gauge to lay out my mortise and tennon joints.

I've watched several videos where Marc and others hand-cut dovetails. I don't recall ever seeing a wheel style marking gauge. I remember seeing the ones with a wooden stop block, a wooden shaft, and a small knife blade, like this one ($50 at Rockler).22206-01-200.jpg

I have used the Veritas wheel gauge for over 5 years and it works great. I do not have the micro adjust version as it wasn't available when I bought it and have since gotten the Tite-Mark version. There is certainly a difference but I imagine the micro adjust version of the Veritas would be work great. I do recommend the micro adjust feature. You won't use it a lot but when you need it, it is awesome.

Only thing I'd do different is get the one with micro adjust. I've heard many people find it very handy.

I have used the Veritas wheel gauge for over 5 years and it works great. I do not have the micro adjust version as it wasn't available when I bought it and have since gotten the Tite-Mark version. There is certainly a difference but I imagine the micro adjust version of the Veritas would be work great. I do recommend the micro adjust feature. You won't use it a lot but when you need it, it is awesome.

Yea I have the micro adjust version without the graduations on the shaft. I would recommend getting the micro adjust as well. for $7 its a no brainer feature.