Rip cuts without table saw

Hello All,

I'm a newbie and I'm working on a carpentry project right now, building a cabinet for our kitchen. It was a good excuse to buy a router(Bosch plunge/fixed base kit) and some clamps. I wanted to start with doing a low entertainment center along the lines of what Marc built in a few of his videos, but thought the cabinet project was a good start to get used to rabbiting and dados and work on simple things like measuring twice before cutting. The cabinet didn't have to be precise. Next, I want to do some wood working, specifically I want to build a toybox for our impending bundle of joy(also crying and poo).

I think I will be able to get by with my limited set of power tools which includes the router I mentioned and my circular saw and a high tooth count blade. One particular issue that I have run into is ripping lumber to size that isn't very wide. By that, I mean cutting a piece of wood that is only two and a half inches down to two inches. That's not enough surface space for my circular saw base. It seems like a perfect job for a table saw, but I'm reluctant to get a table saw for a few reasons. It seems like the portable job site saws are frowned on outside of carpentry work. Table saws in general aren't the safest tools and smaller direct drive saws are apparently more prone to kick back and other issues. I don't have a lot of room in my one car garage and I also can't justify $600 for something like the Rigid contractors saw just for one type of cut. To be perfectly honest, using any table saw worries me. I'm far more comfortable working with my circular saw.

Another option I have looked at is a Bandsaw, but again, I can't spend a lot on a set piece like that. I've been keeping an eye on craigs list for tools in the area, but there aren't a lot of bandsaws for sale in the area that I have seen recently.

Does anyone hear not have a table saw? How do you get by without it?

Thanks and sorry for the rambling first post!