Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
AprilHoffmann

Sealing a reed fence - what do I use?

3 posts in this topic

Hi everyone,

I'm not a woodworking expert or even a beginner, but I found this forum when trying to find an answer to my question.

We installed a reed fence (thin bamboo type) and we need to waterproof or water seal it, but I have no idea what product to use. We have a lot of square footage to cover, so we need something very cost effective.

The fence will get lightly sprayed with our sprinklers 3x a week, so we definitely need something to protect it from water.

So far I've found Minwax Helmsman Gloss indoor/outdoor spar urethane. Would this be a good option? How would we apply it? We don't own a sprayer.

Would regular wood sealant be better?

As you can see, we are pretty clueless. Any advice would be very much appreciated. We're not concerned with the beauty of it, we simply want it to last as long as possible!

Here's a link to the type of fencing we used: http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1v/R-100661555/h_d2/ProductDisplay?langId=-1&storeId=10051&catalogId=10053

Thank you!

My suggestion would be......

waterseal-clear-multi-surface-waterproofer.jpg

You could use a cheap 1 gallon garden pump weed sprayer to apply it, then back-brush it in. ;)

-Ace-

I like this product which is a deck oil - decks require a product that really performs.

http://www.freeworldenvirotech.com/residential_user/product/8/19

Like Ace said a cheap garden/deck sprayer would work. If you have more time than money you can apply this with a rag, although you should wear gloves.

You should ponder if you want UV protection or not, water based clean up and how often you have to reapply any product you choose.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

• Topics