Do you always need to sand? (Question about live edges)

mine

Hi,

I'm a total newbie, as in this is the first project I'm ever tackling after reading much on the subject. And the project is quite ambitious. I have a 2" thick old growth redwood slab with live edges that I want to turn into a table top. My question is about sanding.

One side of the piece still had some bark attached to it which came off very cleanly just by prying off gently. Now I love the look of the edge that was revealed underneath the bark. One part of the edge is very burly wood, and it has lots of nubs sticking out of it. The other part has pleasing grooves and ridges. Since it's the outermost edge of the tree there are no grain lines.

I'm afraid of sanding this edge, as I really don't want to ruin it. As soon as I take 60-grit sandpaper to it, I know I'll ruin the nice natural waviness of the edge and the shape of the nubs. I do need to get all the grime off of the wood though, and for that I was thinking about using a toothbrush to clean.

My question is, does one ALWAYS need to sand before applying finish? What do I lose by not sanding? If I choose not to sand the edges, do I need to do anything special with the rest of the piece to make sure I get a consistent look?

Thanks!

If the surface you have after knocking off the bark is the way you want it, go ahead and finish it. You do need to get that surface clean as you mentioned. I'd wipe the edges or even whole surface with mineral spirits as it will simulate a finish and show you if there are any marks you want removed; you could always spot-sand nubs or whatever.

Does it have any black knots? Those usually need stabilizing. You can do that by pouring clear epoxy into the voids around the knot. Put tape underneath the knot in case the epoxy finds a way out the other side.

Biggest issue with a slab is ensuring it is acclimatized. Has this been properly dried?