Making Hollowing Tools

BigBen

I recently took up wood turning as the next step in my wood working addiction, turning has been extremely fun but costly. As I have been turning every log I could get my hand on, I have had a real hard time doing small vases and hollow forms. I have looked into buy some hollow form tools but dont have the funds the buy what I would like, Robert Sorby SOV-22S-ULTM Medium Ultima Hollowing System

So I have decided to make my own, I have no experience doing so. This will be a learning experience for me. My goal is to make full set of hollowing tools for under $100. After searching google, youtube, LJs and http://thewoodwhisperer.com this is what I have come up with.

Set will consist of three chisels:

Straight, 22 degree bend, 45 degree bend.

Option 1:

Cut 5/8" Cold Rolled Steel to 12" long, drill 3/16" hole 1.5" deep in the head of the of rod. Drill, tap and die holes for set screws into rod and insert 3/16" HSS cutter. The rods will be bent at the 2” mark.

3/16" HSS cutter

5/8" Cold Rolled Steel

Set screw

Need to determine size, suggestions?

Concern with this method:

Can I bend the rod using propane torch?

Option 2:

Cut 3/8" Square Rod 12" long. Grind recess on end 3/16” deep by 3/8” wide. Drill, tap and die hole for set screw. I would like to make 3, one straight, 22 degree bend and 45 degree bend. This replicates what Eddie Castelin has done (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=asbxBgGOhas&feature=feedf) but with a bend.

I am not sure what size hole I will need to secure cutter to rod.

Can I bend the rod using propane torch?

Carbide Cutter

3/8" Square Rod

Questions, comment and donations are appreciated.

• Like 1

Ben,

Watch this vid by Capt Eddie, he fills in some of the missing info for the other vid.

http://www.bayouwoodturner.org/ez-tool-you-tube.html