thoughts on working around not having a workbench

questionmarke

Hi all. Newbie here. Well, I've got a background in power tool work but am just now beginning to acquire some hand tools and learn about hand work.

As I'm sure many have experienced, there seems to be a bit of a catch-22 scenario in this hand tool situation which is that I can't figure out how to do hand work (planing, surfacing, ripping, dovetailing, crosscutting, etc) without a mechanism for holding the pieces for that work. In other words, without some sort of work bench equipped with some combination of devices like vises, bench dogs, holdfasts, plane stops, dead-men, and the like, how does one do this sort of work?

Perhaps the obvious answer is, "One doesn't," but surely not everyone comes to this hobby with either the finances to purchase or else the time to build a full-fledged cabinetmaker's joinery bench at the outset? And what if one is not working in a dedicated location like a shop, but from a truck at any number of jobsite locations? Is occasional hand work just not a viable option in that scenario?

In recent weeks of reading books, browsing the web, and listening to podcasts, I have come across much conversation about building numerous varieties of full-fledged benches, but I have not come across much conversation about ways to rig up similar or temporary solutions on the fly, even if only for a stopgap measure. I hear some have started out by laying a door across a set of saw horses. If that is true, are these people also purchasing the regular holding devices like face and tail vises and drilling holes for bench dogs and hold fasts? Would those things even work for a door-on-saw-horses-scenario? Maybe they would. I'm asking.

To further hone my inquiry, I suppose my question leans toward some sort of portable or knock-down workbench with accessories. Thanks, in part, to another thread on this forum, I have seen a few links to things that sort of lean that direction: