first purchase advice - bandsaw/tablesaw, jointer/planer?

jonathan.parsons

Hi, I apologise if this question has been raised before. As a newbie I am considering purchasing my first woodworking machine for my "shop" which is actually a small single garage with all the usual family clutter. I have a decent size work bench but not room for much else, space is at a premium. I am a hobbyist rather than professional and to date my projects have all been completed with a hand tools, circular saw, jigsaw and router. I have occasional use of another workshop which helps with milling but i would like to do more work at home. I have been going around in circles with what machine to buy first, a bandsaw or table saw. I know both are ideal but in my case space is the major factor. I would like to be able to cut wood to size and to help with joints. I know that a jointer and or planer will be needed next and again space is important. My inclination is for a 14 inch bandsaw and a bench mounted planer ( dewalt 12inch). However there are plenty of reviews that suggest a table saw would be the best first buy followed by a jointer or combined jointer planer (planer/thkcnesser as we say in yorkshire) !

I think this a great site and welcome members advice, i hope i have provided enough information about my needs.

cheers

jonathan

I have a small shop too and my first big tool purchase was a table saw which I now feel was a mistake - it takes up too much room and I seldom do large projects in this small space. I wish I would have got the band saw first.

But my real advice is to figure out what kind of projects you're going to do and buy the equipment you need for those projects. I started out thinking I was going to do cabinetry and larger furniture projects but have ended up doing small projects - boxes, cutting boards and marquetry pieces and most often use my table saw as an assembly table. And I have a few other tools that I rarely use.