Hi Y'All from Kentucky

HoboMonk

Welcome to my journey.

WHAT

I make rustic furniture and mixed media art and crafts.

DESIGNS

I have chosen to follow the path of my ancestors, yet blend in my own personal style. My designs are based upon my family's Appalachian tradition, my life experiences and my personal preferences. I strive to make each design my own. I make no apologies for artistic license.

INFLUENCES

My personal style is a fusion of Appalachian and Asian influences.

* Appalachian (Kentucky, North Carolina, Eastern Cherokee)

My mother’s people were woodsmen and furniture makers from North Carolina. They were also part Cherokee. Most of my techniques are based upon what I saw in my youth.

* Asian (Japan, China, Korea)

I studied Asian furniture making techniques in my youth. Japanese hand tools are my first choice, even though my style is primarily based upon my family's Appalachian heritage.

PRINCIPLES

• Recycle
  • Re-Purpose
  • Rejoice

TECHNIQUES
    I mainly use hand tools, including electrified hand tools. Most of my techniques are based upon family tradition. I am skills-oriented rather than tool driven. I have found that Japanese-style hand tools generally fit my needs. However, I also use modern tools that are carefully chosen if they fit my needs, but only after I have committed myself to learning how to best use them. I am open to any tool that is useful in my quest.

MATERIALS
    I seldom buy wood. Instead, I seek and harvest uncommonly common materials from my region and during my travels. I particularly like natural materials such as twigs, roots, bark, vines and driftwood. I use a variety of found wood such as barn wood, used bourbon barrels and architectural pieces. I also use like to incorporate metal objects (mostly iron, brass, and copper), leather, and other natural materials such as stones, shells and animal bones. Lastly, I am always looking for old or broken furniture that I can repurpose in new and artistic ways.

FINISHES