Table Saw Vs Band Saw

COMO

As evident by all my newbie questions I am very new to woodworking. When I started I kind of jumped in with out really doing enough research. One of the first tools I bought was a Rigid 3612 TS used off Craigslist. So far it has been a great saw but after reading more I have seen people saying one could start with a band saw and maybe be better served. Right now I work in about 2/3 of a 1 1/2 car garage so space is somewhat limited. I have been kicking around the idea of buying a bandsaw. I am beginnig to wonder if it would be wise to sell my table saw and use the money and shop space to look at higher quality bandsaws? Right now I primarily want to learn to build furniture as well as good quaity cabinets. My first few projects were some end grain cutting boards as well wine boxes and picture frames. I currently have a router, jointer, planer, mitre saw as well as various hand held power tools and wood tools. Thanks for the help. Seems like this 2 week vacation to visit inlaws and parents has left me a lot of time to think of all the what ifs.

Garrett

Your probably going to be better off keeping the table saw if your going to do cabinetry or maybe think about a tracksaw like the festool. Your saw is really a little small to be cutting full sheets of plywood anyways so festool may be the way to go. I'd keep the tablesaw and just get a bandsaw.

Don

• Like 1

I would not sell the table saw. It will be the workhorse of your shop once you really get into woodworking. Don't get me wrong, I love my bandsaw, but I did without it for quite some time. I do not cut full sheets of plywood on my table saw. I break them down into rough pieces using a circular saw and a straight edge guide first and then move it to the table saw. I have learned to be patient when I am looking for tools. I always keep my eye out and sooner or later a good deal comes along and is meant to be.