Chisel Advice

IronWood

I'm in the market for some new chisels and am not looking to spend a fortune and am wondering if anyone has advice on a quality set for a decent price. Right now I'm looking between:

Narex Classic Bevel - 10 for $120

Hirsch Firmer - 6 for $132

Stanley Sweetheart - 4 for $120 or 8 for $220

I'm open to any and all advice including other brands but this is roughly my price range...and if anyone out there is interested in donating me their set of premium Japanese Chisels I'm also open to that...

I'm in the market for a solid set of chisel too. Aside from the $$$$ Lie Nielsen... another brand I'm seeing good reviews on are the "two cherries" chisels.

Marples are another chisel brand that was bought out by Irwin and are "apparently" NOT the same as the original brand chisel. I have read good reviews regarding the original Marples which you may be able to find used sets on places like eBay or craigslist. Just another option.

I have no experience with any of these chisels, so take my rambling with a grain of salt... just something to consider.

In the inexpensive category, I am using the Stanley Bailey chisels. (Tang handle models made in England ) for around $70 for a set of 5 with a tool roll I think they are one of the best bangs for the buck out there in chisels. After a flattening and sharpening they work very well.

http://www.amazon.com/Stanley-16-401-Bailey-Chisel-5-Piece/dp/B003HGH3W2/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1327320715&sr=8-4

Around here Narex seems to get a lot of love, the new ones are using an inch scale not metric which was a problem for some woodworkers.