Bell Forest Products Lumber Package

ddh

Hi everyone - I'm a relative newbie to woodworking and am thinking about tackling the Roubo build. I'm a little behind the eight ball here, but happy to join to party!

There are two main lumber mills here in NH and the cost of 8/4 soft maple is around $4.20bf. Given the the prices that Bell Forest is offering for the build, it seems relatively comparable assuming that they provide decent lumber. Seeing that they work with Marc, I would assume that they offer decent product.

Has anyone out there used them as a source for lumber for this build or other projects? They also are offering the option of planed lumber as well as straight line ripped which is a little attractive to me. Any thoughts and suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Hi Kyle - I'm located just outside of Concord so just about an hour west of you. If you are interested, this could be a great "tag-team" effort - being newbies and for a project as large as this - two heads have got to be better than one!

Highland Hardwoods was where I was originally planning on getting the lumber from. Stopped by yesterday without even considering that they may not have any (only 2-3 boards) of 8/4 soft maple on hand! The other nearby to me is Goosebay Lumber (http://goosebaylumber.net/). Smaller operation, similar prices but without the discount and additional charges for boards over a width of 8''. Have you started getting your lumber together yet or at the same planning stage as myself?

Bell Forest quoted me a residential delivery fee of $240 - no tax in NH if you're interested in picking up your lumber at my house!

Bell Forest's stock is top notch. And if something isnt right with your order, they will take care of you. But this is a significant amount of wood. So when you factor in the shipping fee, you'd have to have a fairly high local price for it to be worth it. but for those without a local source or transportation, its a really good option.