Jet 707410 10in. Jointer/ Planer Combo

MIKWoodworking

i don't have any personal experience with it, but i believe the reviews have mostly been on the negative side. one of the main complaints being over all of the plastic parts. apparently, it's difficult to keep the machine in tune and easily loses adjustment. again, i have no experience of my own with this machine. im merely regurgitating what i've heard from others.

i too would LOVE a good 10" jointer. no one seems to make one though. most manufacturers jump from 8" right up to 12". then your talking about $2-3k. well, such is life.

You might be able to find one on craigslist in that range, but it is going to need some work. But who knows, you might get lucky. As for that Jet, I think that youare better off saving you money for a good 8" jointer. If you get an 8", you should be able to joint a 10" board with a technique that MArc has demonstrated that involves taking the blade guard off. WOOD Mag also just did an article on how to do this as well. Good luck.

I have not heard good things about that machine. Very light weight for a 10" jointer. I would much rather see you get a good 6 or 8 inch jointer that will give you good results rather than one you are going to have to constant fight to get a good surface.

You might be able to find one on craigslist in that range, but it is going to need some work. But who knows, you might get lucky. As for that Jet, I think that youare better off saving you money for a good 8" jointer. If you get an 8", you should be able to joint a 10" board with a technique that MArc has demonstrated that involves taking the blade guard off. WOOD Mag also just did an article on how to do this as well. Good luck.

Sac,

could you please elaborate on this?