Table Saw Recommendations?

PG_Woodworker

Hey all, I'm brand new to the forum but have watched all of the TWW videos (some episodes many, many times:) I'm a newbie woodworker, with my first project being a birch plywood murphy wall-bed, built using only a circular saw and router power tools.

I'm beginning to really enjoy WW as a hobby and think its about time I get a table saw. What table saw would you recommend for the entry-level hobbyist ? I would like to build coffee tables, bookcases, bed frames and probably do some home reno's too.

Thanks in advance!

post-6699-0-03829500-1332031362_thumb.jp

post-6699-0-33912900-1332031369_thumb.jp

how much money do you have to spend? That would make a big difference as to what answer you get a small portable sidewinder saw would be your cheapest choice also the least features of all the saws avalable, a contractors saw would be your next step up in price and quality, and if you have a grand or three you step up to the cabinet saw catagory and now were talking about the cadalac's they have all the bells and whistles also you'll need to have a 220 circut to plug into. Also do want a new saw, or used if you choose used you can get a saw for a lot less, but you might be buying someone elses headache. Throw out a price range and you'll get a lot of information to help you make an educated choice.

I'd say my price range is $500-$1500 with a 220V circuit available. I'm really more interested in the quality of the saw, since I'd hope it could last me at least 5 years. New is nice since there's a warranty and all, but I'm not opposed to buying used as long as it's a high-quality make that's not prone to having problems.

Thanks.

I wouldn't recommend a table saw for a entry level woodworker. I would bypass the worksite and possibly the contractor table saws and save your money until you're ready for a cabinet table saw. There are substitutes to having a table saw, as you know after building that murphy bed.