age or stain cherry sapwood?

morganew

I've just made a cherry version of the Roycroft "Little journeys" book shelf. The top is made of two 7" wide pieces of cherry, but both have a little sapwood on them. I was planning on "baking" all the piece in the sun this week before finishing with BLO and then either shellac or spray-can lacquer, then hand rub with some 000 steel wool and wax. I know that sapwood doesn't tend to darken as much as the heartwood, but how big a difference will I see? will BLO help, and should i do that before sunning the pieces?

I'm very new to the finishing world, so I am open to suggestions on all fronts here.

If you want the color to match, you'll need to blend it with a dye, toner or glaze. I've had good success doing this with woods that don't change color much over time, or tend to lighten slightly (like walnut). The big problem with cherry (as opposed to something like walnut) is that the heart wood in cherry will continue to darken over time while the sap wood, color matched or not, will stay the same. So even if you match the color of the sap wood to the heart wood perfectly today, in a year, it will be different again as the heart wood will have continued to darken and the colored sap wood will stay the same, or possibly even fade depending on the method chosen to do the color match. For this reason, while I will tone the sap wood in walnut, I tend to prefer to leave the sap wood in cherry alone, or if everything must match (and continue to match as the piece ages), I remove the cherry sap wood when building the piece.