Professional woodworker or Artist?

sbarton22

I've been reading a lot on what people have to say about going pro. I've read the arguments about what is "pro" and what is hobbyist. I agree with some things and completely disagree with others.

This really got me thinking, so I'm starting a thread almost as a sanity check.

My question is what are the differences between a professional woodworker and an artist who works in the medium of wood?

I know there are certain requirements for certain activities and zoning matters greatly. But let me paint a picture...

I run a tiny design studio. I do architectural design (I am an architect). I do artist renderings of buildings. I do graphics. I do furniture design. And, of course, I actually build some items for sale (some functional, some just art). I do all of these things under my design business so that I can properly pay my taxes.

I don't do any of these things as a primary business. I don't build cabinets for a living. I don't spend 8 hours a day designing websites and I don't sell products full time. I doubt any of these things could even add up a sizable amount alone.

I have grouped these services together because, for me, they all utilize the same skillset. Now, Mr. Professional Woodworker is going to tell me I don't know know what I am talking about because drawing on a computer and running the saw are completely different things. All I can offer is the Frank Gehry couldn't begin to design a school at the level I can, yet we are both architects and you have heard of him and not me. So, on that point, if you cannot understand my grouping of services, we will just have to agree to disagree.

I have also grouped these things together because they allow me to pay taxes on monies earned and actually do utilize, on a daily basis, many of the same tools...computer, supplies, electricity, etc.It would make no sense to create 5 different business and track all differently.