What would you like to know about building a shop?

Vic

Because my day job is as an energy efficiency consultant for a public utility in the commercial, industrial and agriculture sectors and I have a pretty decent shop, I get asked a lot of questions. Some are about lighting, heating and cooling, and general construction. I also stay up on building science in the residential sector, as that is my other passion besides woodworking. I've been thinking of writing a blog post or several, but would like to know what you would like.

Please let me know your questions and I'll answer them to the best of my abilities. I have a lot of contacts in the field, too. So, if I don't know the question, I will track it down or let you know I just don't know.

Normally, I want to only blog about projects, but you have all given much to me and I would like to repay you by addressing the one area I have some expertise.

Vic

• Like 2

Wow Vic, what a nice offer! I'm not sure if this is something you may know about but I thought I would ask. My home is over here in Spokane, WA and I have a full size unfinished basement that I am turning into a woodshop. I would like to insulate the cement walls, perhaps the floor as well, and finish it up with wood walls. I'm not sure what to put on the floor. I've been researching what I need to do but I keep getting different answers. It seems it depends on where you live and how your house was built. With my house being built in 1996 and living in Spokane, I was hoping you might have an idea of what I need to have done? I've learned not to put plastic against the cement and perhaps the rigid foam board is the way to go for the cement walls? Should I put the rigid foam boards then the studs then the wood paneling? What would you recommend for flooring? I also really appreciated your reply about lighting in the shop. I really have no idea what I'm doing and would welcome any advice you may have.

Shannon