Sharpening help needed

MarcoG

Hello everybody

I'm very new to woodworking but I have completed my first project. I made a scabbard for my sword (get your dirty minds out of the gutter, willya? ;)) using my Festool router (loving that thing) and hand tools.

Now I had a hard time planing the cherry wood because chip-out would occur. Sure, I probably chose very badly grained wood since I'm a noob but still... I have tried sharpening the blades with my Norton waterstones but frankly, this is just... I don't know, a lot of work coupled with a big mess and unsatisfactory results. Also, the chisel I sharpened is now less sharp than its companions.

Yes, of course it's my lacking skills at sharpening. I will not even try to deny that but the whole process isn't enjoyable.

So I went and looked around at how other people sharpened. It seems diamond stones are very big with people and it looks pretty clean, you don't have to flatten them and I've read they cut faster than waterstones.

What I not quite get is grit. I've read in the waterstone thread here that most people will go as far as about 1 micron (with stropping paste) after using an 8000 grit waterstone. DMT DuoSharp stones, as an example, only seem to go to about 1200 grits. But then I remembered, back before I declared my straight shaving a failure (from whence I have my Norton stones), that I've read that waterstone and diamond grits are not at all comparable.

So, to make a long story short: Is it true that diamond stones will achieve similar results at lower grits? Are these stones really lower maintenance as I am hoping? Are they less prone to errors (due to no uneven stone surface)? Do they make sharpening quicker?

Thanks

Marco,