Joining Boards

DaveB

Sorry if this has been covered elsewhere and I just haven't found it yet.

I'm pretty new to woodworking. For my first real project I'm building a changing table for the baby we're having in October. I'm now on my second attempt at it which is looking like it will work well (and it better for the money I've spent so far!)

The problem I was having was joining the boards together for the top and sides. I was trying to join 1x6 boards together to make a 24" wide top. I bought a lock-miter bit for the router and fought the thing for a week trying to get it to work right, but I always ended up with sloppy and uneven joints. Later I discovered that there are setup blocks for them- something I will definitely need to buy down the road.

The finger joint bit looked a bit easier. After a few tests with that, it's back in the toolbox with the lock miter bit. Oh I haven't given up on them, just need to learn a little more first.

I ended up buying pre-made panels at Lowes. I feel like I'm cheating, but the baby's coming soon and I need to get it finished.

Anyway, That's kind of the long way around to my actual question- What is a good way to join boards like this? I'm sure there are hundreds of ways to do it, What is a good not-so-difficult way?

Long-grain to long-grain joints are plenty strong without any fancy joinery - I know, it surprised me, too. The standard way to do this is to make sure the edges to be joined mate perfectly. Usually this means that they are both flat, but theoretically, they could look like puzzle pieces as long as they matched each other. You can flatten them on a table saw with a good blade, a router table, a hand held router with an edge bearing (you run the bearing along a known straight-edge), or with hand tools (I think it's a jointer plane, but you should ask someone who knows if you go that route).