Bandsaw options - need some direction

joelav

I've been researching bandsaws for a few months now and am currently suffering from paralysis by analysis. I decided to take a hard, realistic look at what I am going to use a bandsaw for.

1 - Resawing. Realistically, I am not going to need more than 6" of resaw height. I rarely work with boards wider than 6". When I do, I do not see a need to resaw them. Originally this was one of my largest concerns.

2 - Space. in my current shop set up, I really have no room for a bandsaw. Compromises are going to be made in the form of bench space, which frankly I have too much of now anyway. I need to cut back on the clutter

3 - Power. I would like something powerful enough where I won't be running into issues resawing

4 - precision work/cutting curves. In the past I really didn't have a need for this. My current project (my take on arts and crafts) I did have to cut a few curves. I ended up abandoning them because I SUCK with a jig saw. There is no other way to put it. I freaking hate jig saws and I have to to just accept the fact I suck with it and move on.

So in a nutshell, I need a powerful bandsaw that I can easily resaw boards/logs up to ~6", and accurately cut really small items and cut curves with that doesn't take up a huge amount of space. I have limited my search previously to the likes of the Laguna LT14SUV. Honestly that is too much band saw for me and that extra space and money I would save on a smaller saw would do me very well in other areas. I'm not looking for the cheapest saw on the market, but something under 900.00 or so is my new target.

Take a look at the Grizzly 14" saws. They are well within your price range, and work very well. I personally have the G0555P 14" bandsaw, and have found it overall to be a good saw. They do sell mobile bases for it as well, which can help with your space concerns.

My amateurish suggestions. Just some thoughts for what they’re worth.